Radburn Continues as President

Written by: Nick Archer
Date: 02/02/2017

< go back
The Management Board has invited Peter Radburn to continue as President of the League for a second year following Richard Cox’s decision to decline the invitation due to a conflict of interest with his new role at ECB. Cox was nominated as President-Elect at last year’s A.G.M. but, since his appointment, he has taken on the role of ECB Head of Participation & Growth for the West Midlands region and he believes it would be inappropriate to assume the Presidency of the League while its future structure and direction is under scrutiny from his employers. 

Former Kidderminster seamer Radburn, who is, also, Chairman of the Worcestershire County League, will become the second President to serve more than one year in the role since the League was “opened up” in 1998. Ex-Warwickshire and England scorer Alex Davis was President in 1998, 1999 and 2000 at a time when the League was settling down after the first major alteration to its structure in 110 years. 

Following his announcement, at a recent Board Meeting, that he will be standing down as Chairman of the Management Board after next year’s A.G.M., Robin Viner has accepted an invitation to become President-Elect. Viner, who has been Chairman since 2002, will continue as Hon. Treasurer of the League until the end of his existing three-year term at the end of 2019. 

At the same meeting, Wolverhampton’s David Manning was elected as Vice-Chairman of the League.