Birmingham & Black Country Auction House

Williamson Trophy Review Round One

Written by: Nick Archer
Date: 15/04/2017

< go back
Unlike last year, when all eight 1st Round ties were decided by the toss of a coin, following a complete wash-out, the Williamson Trophy commenced the 2017 season uninterrupted and the recent good weather ensured that there were plenty of runs around. Highest total of the day came from 2016 Premier Division Champions Berkswell, who flexed their muscles with 252 for six, from 40 overs, at Wolverhampton. Chris Whittock led the way with an unbeaten 114 from 94 balls, making sure that Berkswell set a total that was way beyond the reach of Wolverhampton who were dismissed for 138 in 34 overs. Berkswell will travel to Walsall in the 2nd Round, after the Gorway side defeated Brockhampton by 6 wickets at The Parks. Adam Hewlett (50) and Henry Langford (42) were the leading run-scorers for Brockhampton with teenage left-arm spinner Sam Mills (4 for 30) the pick of the bowlers for Walsall. An unbeaten 102 from 100 balls by Ed Denham steered Walsall, the holders of the Trophy, into the 2nd Round. 

In a new initiative, Warwickshire C.C.C. and Worcestershire C.C.C. were invited to enter an Academy XI into this year’s competition but both sides slipped to defeat at the first attempt. George Sellers (57) and Harry Johnson (47) were the main contributors to a Warwickshire total of 215 for eight, at Kidderminster, but the home side romped to a four-wicket victory, in 36.4 overs, thanks to 88 from Matt Pardoe and 72 from Neil Pinner. The Worcestershire Academy XI were defeated by 42 runs at Walmley after the home side reached 195 for eight in 40 overs. Aaron Thomason (44), Andrew Hendry (39) and Tom Pyke (34) helped Walmley to their winning total, despite 3 for 22 from Zain ul-Hassan. In reply, Shrewsbury’s Ollie Westbury hit 52 for Worcestershire before Amaan Farooq stepped up to take 3 for 11 for Walmley as the Worcestershire youngsters fell away to 153 all out. 

Kidderminster will visit local rivals Ombersley in the 2nd Round after the Droitwich Road side defeated 2016 Division Two Champions Shifnal by seven wickets. Jack McIver top scored with 44 in Shifnal’s total of 141 all out with Neil Slade taking 4 for 30 and Ted Bayliss finishing with 3 for 22 for Ombersley, who cantered to victory after Gareth Andrew hit 45 not out and Dominic D’Oliviera scored 36. Walmley’s win over the Worcestershire Academy side takes them through to a 2nd Round tie against Dorridge who defeated Leamington Spa by 12 runs, the closest game of the day. Shahzad Ali hit 59 in a Dorridge total of 208 for nine with Tom Warner returning figures of 3 for 46 for Leamington, who had finished on 195 all out with three balls remaining after Sulaiman Hussein hit 47 and Lee Hopkins scored 41. Skipper David Ball took 3 for 24 for Dorridge. 

West Bromwich Dartmouth will host Shrewsbury in the 2nd Round after they defeated Knowle & Dorridge by eight wickets and Shrewsbury beat Kenilworth Wardens by four wickets. Alex Phillips scored 58 in a K & D total of 192 for seven but an unbeaten 92 from Kadeer Ali, supported by 36 from Amit John and 31 from Liam Banks eased Dartmouth to victory with 5 overs in hand. Ben Rex (53) and Basit Zaman (39) saw Wardens to 190 for eight, at London Road, where the home side’s left-arm-spinner Tyler Ibbotson produced the best bowling figures of the day with 5 for 25. Shrewsbury were steered to victory by 76 from Will Parton and 33 from Ed Foster.