T20 Challenge Cup round-up and last eight draw

Author: Paul Smith
Date: 10/06/2024

T20 Challenge Cup round-up and last eight draw

Author: Paul Smith
Date: 10/06/2024

 Go Back

West Bromwich Dartmouth’s Shahzeb Raja narrowly missed becoming part of cricketing folklore when he smashed 34 from an over during his team’s 15-run win over Wolverhampton.

Raja despatched the opening five deliveries of Techi Doria’s over – the fifth of the home side’s innings – over the ropes before striking the final ball for a boundary.

Raja’s 21-ball 64 plus an unbeaten 56 from Cameron Jones steered Dartmouth to a challenging 200 for five.

Ramonjot Jaswal then gave Wolves every chance with a fluent 49-ball 70 but the hosts held their nerve in a tight finish.

Dartmouth now host Himley in the last eight of this year’s BDPCL T20 Challenge Cup after they clinched a 12-run success in a much lower-scoring contest against Smethwick.

Ollie Walker carried his bat for an unbeaten 76 to ensure Rawait Khan’s side were set a testing 149. Ben Hopkins then claimed 2-19 as Smethwick closed on 137 for six.

Defending champions Harborne moved smoothly into the quarter-finals with a comfortable 115-run win over Dorridge.

Warwickshire’s Kai Smith was the star of the show for Tom Arnold’s team hitting ten sixes and eight fours in a whirlwind 52-ball 117.

With Swapnil Gugale contributing a breezy 65 Dorridge were set a towering 252 to win.

Former Berkswell seamer Adnaan Riaz (3-37) emerged best from a visiting attack that absorbed plenty of punishment and he then thrashed 26 from nine balls at the top of the Dorridge order.

Medhi top-scored for the visitors with an unbeaten 42 as they closed on 136 for seven.

The ‘Warwickshire final’ sees Harborne travel to Knowle & Dorridge who overcame second round opponents Kenilworth Wardens by 23 runs.

Skipper James Middleton top-scored for K&D with 49 before Wardens who were set 149 to win were contained to 125 for seven.

Wellington progressed into the last eight via a 3-1 bowl-out success on a rainy night at Shrewsbury and they will now host Shifnal who overcame Bridgnorth in the second round at Cricket Meadow.

Although Jenson Caine took 3-21 for the hosts, Shifnal skipper Chris Murrall top-scored with 37 and with Ben Lees and Jack Edwards also passing 30 Bridgnorth were set 156.

Shaun Lorimer then took over with the ball to destroy the home batting with an excellent 5-12. Zakariah Abbas made a fighting 53 but this was not enough to prevent the visitors claiming a comfortable 33-run verdict.

Halesowen also made it into the last eight courtesy of a ten-run local derby win over Old Hill.

Luke Tulacz (53no) and Charlie Egerton (34no) added and unbroken partnership of 90 in the final 11 overs of the Halesowen innings to drag them from 51 for four to 141.

Old Hill captain Bilal Hussein then looked threatening with an even-time 34 but with Ed Bragg claiming 3-19 the hosts fell narrowly short despite Asif Iqbal striking three sixes in a late flurry.

Halesowen host Barnt Green in the ‘Worcestershire final’ after Romi Brar’s team claimed a seven-wicket win with eight balls remaining at Barnards Green.

Ryan Tongue top-scored for the hosts with 48 and with Sam Clements adding a rapid-fire 39 including three sixes Barnt Green were set 154.

Andy Sutton took 2-20 for the visitors who then recovered from the early loss of Henry Cullen through Brar’s half-century and an unbeaten 45 from his predecessor Dom Harding.

Round Three matches to be played by Sunday June 30th 2024
Match 17: Knowle & Dorridge v Harborne
Match 18: Halesowen v Barnt Green
Match 19: W.B. Dartmouth v Himley
Match 20: Wellington v Shifnal

Finals day (venue tbc) is on Sunday July 21st

Html.Raw(T20 Challenge Cup round-up and last eight draw)

Html.Raw(T20 Challenge Cup round-up and last eight draw)